Passwords are required for these four databases from Proquest; password info for all of CCI's online resources can be found by using the ONE password listed in your student agenda to open the "Passwords" page on the navigation menu above. Ask your teacher or teacher-librarian for help with logging in if you need it,
Click here for user guides, how to videos, and other training and support materials for all these databases
Covers all topic areas including Canadian content
Focus on social issues (science, social science, current events); excellent for any "debateable" topic where you need to know pros and cons
Tens of thousands of hand-selected text and multimedia resources chosen specifically for high school research projects
For anything related to the study of literature and drama
Author info, critical essays, plus full-text primary resources (novels, plays, poetry up to the 1920s)
Using your phone?
Search eLibrary on your phone using this mobile eLIbrary site.
Search SIRS on your phone using this mobile SIRS site.
Using a tablet (iPad, Samsung, etc.)? Access the databases through a browser (Safari, Chrome, etc.) using the links at top to get the full desktop experience OR use the mobile sites for the streamlined version.
History Study Center
For any historical topic
Lots of maps, images, timelines and primary historical documents as well as reference and magazine articles
The Digital Public Library of America
The DPLA portal allows you to search hundreds of American library and museum collections for digital objects such as images, sound and video files, texts, etc. all from one search environment. This is a great place to start your search for primary sources about any American topic from baseball to the Civil Rights Movement!
Statistics Canada resources for students
Statistics Canada home page
Student page - including links to "fast facts" on key topics like crime, environment, health, education, etc. as well as "how to" info for students (ie how to do a survey or how to find data)
Video tutorial for students (ie using Excel to create graphs)
E-STAT - " generate dynamic tables, customize graphs and maps using Statistics Canada's Census of Population and socioeconomic data." First time users: We recommend you get an introduction to using this tool from a teacher or teacher-librarian
Kids' Zone - games and puzzles
Statistics: Power from Data! - an online book written for secondary students to help them gain confidence in using statistical information to complete study requirements, appreciate the importance of statistical information in today's society and make critical use of information that is presented to them.
2010 Canada Yearbook (pdf format) - statistics and information on over 30 specific topics, such as crime and justice, population, environment, aboriginal peoples, labour, etc. Also includes links to previous 4 Yearbooks as well
Canadian Social Trends -articles describing research done on various significant social trends, (for example: "Education and earnings of childhood immigrants") - new articles posted every 6 weeks (note: senior academic reading level)
A short video that gives you some great tips on how to easily and effectively find resources in a database.